20 February 2024
ECM adds three more classic albums to its Luminessence series

Leading European jazz label ECM Records adds three titles to its Luminessence series of reissued classics on March 1st.


Norwegian saxophone hero Jan Garbarek’s 1970 recording, Afric Pepperbird features Garbarek with the other three members of Norway’s big four of the time – guitarist Terje Rypdal, double bass master Arild Andersen and the late, much-missed Jon Christensen on drums.


Garbarek is also the featured soloist on Keith Jarrett’s Luminessence, the orchestrated work from 1974 that Jarrett wrote with the saxophonist in mind at a time when the pianist was leading his Scandi quartet with Garbarek, bassist Palle Danielsson and Jon Christensen, again, on drums.


The third album, Azimuth’s self-titled debut finds the great British vocalist Norma Winstone with the equally great pianist John Taylor and trumpeter Kenny Wheeler defining a sound that would serve them beautifully over the next decade or more. The track that opens side two of the vinyl edition of the album, The Tunnel has more recently seen Norma Winstone, the sole surviving member of the trio, reaching an enormous audience through its sampling by Canadian rapper Drake.

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement